You are here:

Last updated on 15 October 2018
Ref: 13172
School types: All · School phases: Primary

Not all pupils have to take part in Key Stage (KS) 1 assessments. Read about which KS1 pupils are exempt, and how you report this to parents.

Article tools


  1. School types
  2. Participating pupils
  3. Reporting on pupils who don't take the tests
  4. Final decision rests with headteacher
  5. Parents' objections to testing

The Key has taken great care in publishing this article. However, some of the article's content and information may come from or link to third party sources whose quality, relevance, accuracy, completeness, currency and reliability we do not guarantee. Accordingly, we will not be held liable for any use of or reliance placed on this article's content or the links or downloads it provides. This article may contain information sourced from public sector bodies and licensed under the Open Government Licence.