You are here:

Last updated on 15 October 2018
Ref: 12876
School types: All · School phases: Primary

Not all pupils have to take part in Key Stage 2 SATs. Read about which pupils are exempt, and how to report to parents and the governing body.

Article tools


  1. Participating schools
  2. All pupils must be registered
  3. Headteachers make decision on participation
  4. Working below the standard
  5. Unable to access tests
  6. Pupils younger or older than 11
  7. Pupils with EAL
  8. Low attendance due to illness
  9. Joining a school during year 6
  10. Excluded pupils

The Key has taken great care in publishing this article. However, some of the article's content and information may come from or link to third party sources whose quality, relevance, accuracy, completeness, currency and reliability we do not guarantee. Accordingly, we will not be held liable for any use of or reliance placed on this article's content or the links or downloads it provides. This article may contain information sourced from public sector bodies and licensed under the Open Government Licence.