Assessment requirements in the EYFS

Learn about the 3 statutory requirements under the Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) framework 2021 and the role of your local authority, and how these differ from the 2017 framework.

Last reviewed on 26 April 2022
School types: All · School phases: Nursery, Primary
Ref: 351
  1. Progress check at age 2
  2. Reception Baseline Assessment (RBA)
  3. EYFS profile
  4. Moderation and the role of the local authority

This article is based on the assessment requirements set out in the 2021 Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) framework.

Progress check at age 2

You must give parents and carers a short written summary of their child’s development when the child is aged between 2 and 3. 

 This must include a summary of the child’s development in the prime areas: 

  • Communication and language
  • Physical development
  • Personal, social and emotional development

You must identify the child’s strengths in these areas, and any areas where their progress is less than expected.

Areas in which the child is progressing well Areas in which some additional support might be needed Any significant emerging concerns, or a special educational need or disability - in which case you should develop a targeted plan to support the child's future learning and development  A description of the