EYFS framework changes

Changes to the Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) framework have applied since 1 September 2021. Read our summary to understand the changes to the previous framework.

Last reviewed on 26 September 2023
School types: AllSchool phases: AllRef: 38850
  1. The EYFS framework changed in September 2021
  2. New definitions for the 'prime' and 'specific' areas of learning
  3. Changes to what the early learning goals cover
  4. Assessment and moderation
  5. Minor change to safeguarding and welfare requirements
  6. What has not changed

The EYFS framework changed in September 2021

The current EYFS framework has been valid from 1 September 2021 with minor changes from 4 September 2023.

This article summarises the differences between the current and old frameworks, and is based on this guidance as well as the outcome of the DfE's consultation on these changes. 

There's also a current version of the Development Matters curriculum guidance from 2021, which isn't compulsory but the DfE recommends using it alongside the new EYFS framework. 

New definitions for the 'prime' and 'specific' areas of learning

The DfE updated these to make them clearer and more specific. Refer to the non-statutory Development Matters curriculum guidance to help you put them into practice. 

Communication and language The development of children’s spoken language underpins all seven areas of learning and development. Children’s back-and-forth interactions from an early age form the foundations for language and cognitive development. The number and quality of the conversations they have with adults

The Key has taken great care in publishing this article. However, some of the article's content and information may come from or link to third party sources whose quality, relevance, accuracy, completeness, currency and reliability we do not guarantee. Accordingly, we will not be held liable for any use of or reliance placed on this article's content or the links or downloads it provides. This article may contain information sourced from public sector bodies and licensed under the Open Government Licence v3.0.