You are here:

Last updated on 26 October 2018
Ref: 1409
School types: All · School phases: Primary

All maintained schools must teach swimming in Key Stage 1 or 2. Find out what you need to publish on your website about this, and what to do when a parent wants to withdraw their child.

Article tools


  1. National Curriculum requirements
  2. Website requirements
  3. Withdrawing pupils
  4. When pupils don't meet the standard

The Key has taken great care in publishing this article. However, some of the article's content and information may come from or link to third party sources whose quality, relevance, accuracy, completeness, currency and reliability we do not guarantee. Accordingly, we will not be held liable for any use of or reliance placed on this article's content or the links or downloads it provides. This article may contain information sourced from public sector bodies and licensed under the Open Government Licence.