You are here:

Last updated on 7 July 2017
Ref: 9586
School types: All · School phases: Secondary

Which subjects are statutory at Key Stage (KS) 3 and 4? In this article, we outline the subjects that maintained schools must teach in KS3 and 4. We also explain that academies are not required to follow the National Curriculum, but they must teach certain subjects.

Article tools

The Key has taken great care in publishing this article. However, some of the article's content and information may come from or link to third party sources whose quality, relevance, accuracy, completeness, currency and reliability we do not guarantee. Accordingly, we will not be held liable for any use of or reliance placed on this article's content or the links or downloads it provides. This article may contain information sourced from public sector bodies and licensed under the Open Government Licence.