You are here:

Appraisal: stages of the cycle

Ref: 141
Last updated on 26 October 2016
School types: All · School phases: All
In-depth article
What are the main stages of the performance management process? We outline the key phases as suggested in the DfE's optional model policy for teacher appraisal. We also include a case study of how one teaching school manages its appraisal cycle.

Article tools


  1. 1 DfE: organising the appraisal cycle
  2. 2 Infographic: the appraisal cycle
  3. 3 Planning for the appraisal year: setting objectives
  4. 4 Monitoring and supporting teachers throughout the cycle
  5. 5 Reviewing at the end of the cycle
  6. 6 The appraisal cycle in practice: case study

Article features

  • 1 download
  • 9 external links

More from The Key

CPD Toolkit Fresh

CPD Toolkit makes it easy to run training in-house

Covering a wide range of topics, including differentiation, assessment, SEND and growth mindset, CPD Toolkit has been created by subject experts and tested by teachers to guarantee practical, engaging training that's also excellent value for money.

The Key has taken great care in publishing this article. However, some of the article's content and information may come from or link to third party sources whose quality, relevance, accuracy, completeness, currency and reliability we do not guarantee. Accordingly, we will not be held liable for any use of or reliance placed on this article's content or the links or downloads it provides. This article may contain information sourced from public sector bodies and licensed under the Open Government Licence.