You are here:

Progress 8: which qualifications count?

Ref: 10131
Last updated on 23 March 2018
School types: All · School phases: Secondary
In-depth article
Progress 8 divides different subjects into elements. We explain what these elements are and which qualifications are eligible for inclusion. We also explain how discounting will affect multiple qualifications taken in the same subject.

Article tools


  1. 1 Subjects included
  2. 2 Double-weighted maths
  3. 3 English
  4. 4 The EBacc element
  5. 5 The open element
  6. 6 Science
  7. 7 Discounting

Article features

  • 5 external links

More from The Key

CPD Toolkit Fresh

CPD Toolkit makes it easy to run training in-house

Covering a wide range of topics, including differentiation, assessment, SEND and growth mindset, CPD Toolkit has been created by subject experts and tested by teachers to guarantee practical, engaging training that's also excellent value for money.

The Key has taken great care in publishing this article. However, some of the article's content and information may come from or link to third party sources whose quality, relevance, accuracy, completeness, currency and reliability we do not guarantee. Accordingly, we will not be held liable for any use of or reliance placed on this article's content or the links or downloads it provides. This article may contain information sourced from public sector bodies and licensed under the Open Government Licence.