You are here:

Last reviewed on 15 October 2021
Ref: 5343
School types: All · School phases: All

Read our summary of the Teachers' Standards, and see our skills audit and example school policies linking the standards to career stage expectations and progression.

This article is based on the current Teachers' Standards. These are for schools in England - teachers in Wales use a different set of standards (see the final section in 'Who the standards apply to' below for more detail).

Who the standards apply to

The Teachers' Standards must apply to:

  • Most teachers in maintained schools, including headteachers (this is set out in legislation)
  • Teachers completing their newly qualified teacher (NQT) or early career teacher (ECT) induction
  • Trainees working towards qualified teacher status (QTS)

They don't have to apply to:

  • Teachers in academies (unless your funding agreement says otherwise)
  • Teachers with qualified teacher learning and skills (QTLS) status

However, the standards may be used for these teachers if you wish.

Teachers in Wales use different standards  The Welsh government has different standards - the professional standards for teaching and leadership -

More from The Key


Bitesize training with a big impact

Our on-demand training has your whole board covered and lets them learn at a time and pace that suits them.

Help your new governors hit the ground running with our expertly-designed induction training, and our role-specific courses support your link governors develop key skills and confidence in their role.


New eLearning: DSL refresher training

Your DSL’s training should be refreshed at least once every 2 years. 

Designed in collaboration with safeguarding experts, our 2.5 hour online refresher training course reminds DSLs how to put their knowledge into practice, with in-depth, real-world scenarios.


The Key has taken great care in publishing this article. However, some of the article's content and information may come from or link to third party sources whose quality, relevance, accuracy, completeness, currency and reliability we do not guarantee. Accordingly, we will not be held liable for any use of or reliance placed on this article's content or the links or downloads it provides. This article may contain information sourced from public sector bodies and licensed under the Open Government Licence v3.0.