You are here:

Professional standards for teaching assistants

Ref: 2300
Last updated on 12 June 2017
School types: All · School phases: All
In-depth article
Are there any standards for teaching assistants (TAs)? We link to professional standards for TAs, published in June 2016. We also link to previously developed national occupational standards for support staff and higher level teaching assistants (HLTAs).

Article tools

Want to read more?

To read this article in full, sign up for a free trial of The Key.

The Key gives school leaders access to:

Interested in MAT membership?


  1. 1 Professional standards for teaching assistants
  2. 2 National occupational standards for support staff
  3. 3 Higher level teaching assistant (HLTA) standards

Article features

  • 5 external links

More from The Key

The Key has taken great care in publishing this article. However, some of the article's content and information may come from or link to third party sources whose quality, relevance, accuracy, completeness, currency and reliability we do not guarantee. Accordingly, we will not be held liable for any use of or reliance placed on this article's content or the links or downloads it provides. This article may contain information sourced from public sector bodies and licensed under the Open Government Licence.