Teaching and learning responsibility (TLR) payments

Know the rules around what you can award, the criteria teachers need to meet, and the payment values this year.

Last reviewed on 17 October 2022
School types: All · School phases: All
Ref: 1710
  1. There are 3 types of TLR payment
  2. Teachers must meet certain criteria to be eligible 
  3. Payment values are set yearly
  4. Rules about holding concurrent payments
  5. You normally can't withdraw TLRs

There are 3 types of TLR payment

You can award teaching and learning responsibility (TLR) payments when:

  • A classroom teacher is undertaking a sustained additional responsibility for the purpose of ensuring the continued delivery of high-quality teaching and learning; and
  • The teacher will be made accountable for that responsibility

The 3 types of TLR payment are:

  • TLR1 payments: for sustained additional responsibilities, with line management responsibilities for a significant number of people 
  • TLR2 payments: for sustained additional responsibilities
  • TLR3 payments: fixed-term payments for clearly time-limited school improvement projects, one-off externally driven responsibilities, or where teachers are undertaking the planning, preparation, coordination and/or delivery of catch-up tutoring to pupils whose learning has been affected by the coronavirus pandemic

The STPCD applies to all teachers in maintained schools and to teachers whose employment transferred to an academy at the point of