You are here:

Last reviewed on 30 September 2021
Ref: 9957
School types: All · School phases: Primary

Get to grips with the requirements for assessing pupils working between the engagement model and the level of the curriculum. You’ll also find advice on assessment for these pupils outside end-of-Key-Stage assessments.

End-of-Key-Stage assessments

Your teachers must use the pre-KS1 and KS2 standards set by the STA to make statutory teacher assessment judgements:

  • At the end of each Key Stage
  • For pupils engaged in subject-specific study, who are working below the National Curriculum teacher assessment frameworks

For reading, writing and mathematics, the interim standards of attainment are:

  • 4 standards in KS1, from 'standard 1' to 'standard 4'
  • 6 standards in KS2, from 'standard 1' to 'standard 6'

The STA has revised the 'pupil can' statements to make sure they: appropriately represent the key aspects of each subject, allow for progression towards the National Curriculum and better reflect classroom practice.

See the pre-KS1 and KS2 standards. 

Use the engagement model to assess pupils not yet engaged in subject-specific study

You must use the engagement model from September 2021 to assess pupils who are:

The model replaces P scales

More from The Key


Bitesize training with a big impact

Our on-demand training has your whole board covered and lets them learn at a time and pace that suits them.

Help your new governors hit the ground running with our expertly-designed induction training, and our role-specific courses support your link governors develop key skills and confidence in their role.


New eLearning: DSL refresher training

Your DSL’s training should be refreshed at least once every 2 years. 

Designed in collaboration with safeguarding experts, our 2.5 hour online refresher training course reminds DSLs how to put their knowledge into practice, with in-depth, real-world scenarios.


The Key has taken great care in publishing this article. However, some of the article's content and information may come from or link to third party sources whose quality, relevance, accuracy, completeness, currency and reliability we do not guarantee. Accordingly, we will not be held liable for any use of or reliance placed on this article's content or the links or downloads it provides. This article may contain information sourced from public sector bodies and licensed under the Open Government Licence v3.0.