Ofsted inspection framework: what it means for your school

Get to grips with the current inspection framework and the 4 judgement areas that inspectors will look at. Understand the difference between 'intent', 'implementation' and 'impact', and use our prompts to make sure you're on top of these key curriculum concepts.

Last reviewed on 10 October 2023See updates
School types: AllSchool phases: AllRef: 36144
  1. Quality of education
  2. Behaviour and attitudes
  3. Personal development
  4. Leadership and management

Ofsted will inspect your school against 4 key judgements:

  • Quality of education
  • Behaviour and attitudes
  • Personal development
  • Leadership and management

Quality of education

Your curriculum is at the heart of the 'quality of education' judgement, and Ofsted splits this into these 3 concepts:

  • Intent: your curriculum plan, including its design, structure and sequence
  • Implementation: how you teach and assess your intended curriculum
  • Impact: the outcomes for your pupils as a result of the education they've received

Inspectors won't judge them as 3 separate measures – they'll consider them all as part of your ‘quality of education’ judgement.

Intent: what are you trying to achieve with your curriculum? Your curriculum intent is what you want your pupils to know and be able to do – both at different stages of their education (for instance, spring term of year 4), and by the time they leave your school. Use these prompts when

The Key has taken great care in publishing this article. However, some of the article's content and information may come from or link to third party sources whose quality, relevance, accuracy, completeness, currency and reliability we do not guarantee. Accordingly, we will not be held liable for any use of or reliance placed on this article's content or the links or downloads it provides. This article may contain information sourced from public sector bodies and licensed under the Open Government Licence v3.0.