Last reviewed on 19 April 2021
School types: All · School phases: All
Ref: 42541

You must follow the guidance in the EYFS framework (linked in the 'sources' section below).

You need to make sure your provision covers the 7 areas of learning:

3 prime areas

  • Communication and language development
  • Physical development
  • Personal, social and emotional development

4 specific areas

  • Literacy
  • Maths
  • Understanding of the world
  • Expressive arts and design

Pupils also need to work towards the 'early learning goals' (these are the knowledge, skills and understanding that children should have by the end of reception).